Skip to main content



In July 16, 1980, the Concepcion Water District (CWD) was formed and was issued the conditional certificate of conformance (CCC) No. 034 on September 25, 1980 by the Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA). CWD was born as a self-reliant quasi-public entity with the implementation of the Provincial Water Utilities Act of 1973 or PD 198, which created the water districts nationwide. However, through a Supreme Court decision, all Water Districts in the country have been categorized as government-owned and controlled corporation (GOCC) since March 1992.

CWD started with 700 service connections when it took over the management of the then NAWASA in 1973. This represented about 11% of the total town population of 77,895 during that year then. The average water production was 3,500 cubic meters per day distributed to consumers through transmission and distribution lines, 39 kilometers long. As of December 2016, the District currently serves 12.784 service connections with an average water production capacity of 19,115 cubic meters per day. This reflects that in 4 decades, CWD has grown around 18 times in service connections, and 18 times in water production capacity. The potable water CWD serves to the public comes from fifteen (15) wells distributed in the thirty (30) barangay of Concepcion. Production facilities include sixteen (16) pumping stations and six (6) reservoirs while transmission and distribution lines extend up to 8,006 linear meters ranging from 50mm – diameter to 150mm – diameter in size.

At the moment, CWD has extended services to 2 barangays in Sto. Niño and Sto. Rosario Magunting in the municipality. In total, 31 of the 45 barangays of Concepcion have been covered by CWD services. As of February 2018, the total number of service connections has reached 13,788 representing about 45% of the total estimated population of the District’s service area.

Official Website of Concepcion Water District